

December 11, 2023

To: Todd Kimmelshue, Board Chairman, Butte County
Wendy Thomas, Board Chairwoman, El Dorado County
Steve Madrone, Board Chairman, Humboldt County
Ryan Kelley, Board Chairman, Imperial County
Richard Valle, Board Chairman, Kings County
David Rogers, Board Chairman, Madera County
Glenn McGourty, Board Chairman, Mendocino County
Patrick Jones, Board Chairman, Shasta County
Karm Bains, Board Chairman, Sutter County
Bill Moule, Board Chairman, Tehama County
Oscar Villegas, Board Chairman, Yolo County
Andy Vasquez, Jr., Board Chairman, Yuba County

From: Paul J. Yoder and Karen Lange, Shaw Yoder Antwih Schmelzer & Lange

RE: CMSP Governing Board – County Supervisor Position for Group 2 Counties

As you know, the County Medical Services Program (CMSP) Governing Board is composed of County Supervisors, County Administrative Officers, and county health and welfare officials from the 35 member counties. The Governing Board administers the CMSP program, which provides health care services to indigent adults in the 35 counties.

In fulfillment of its statutory responsibility, the Governing Board has regularized the terms of its Board. The term of the Supervisor Representative from Group 2 Counties ends on 12/31/23. This position is currently held by Supervisor Oscar Villegas of Yolo County, who is resigning. Group 2 Counties include Butte, El Dorado, Humboldt, Imperial, Kings, Madera, Mendocino, Shasta, Sutter, Tehama, Yolo, and Yuba counties.

An election needs to be held to fill the position designated for a County Supervisor from a Group 2 County for the remainder of the term which will begin 1/1/24 and end 12/31/25. The Governing Board has directed our office to conduct the election on behalf of the Board.

Sutter County Supervisor Mike Ziegenmeyer is the sole candidate for this position. Should you wish to run, there is a space provided on the ballot for a write-in candidate. A ballot and addressed envelope are enclosed. Please complete and return your ballot by Friday, December 29, 2023. You may also email your completed ballot to SYASLCountyInfo@syaspartners.com.

SYASLpartners.com

Please note that no two board members from the same CMSP County may serve as members of the Board at the same time. Therefore, candidates from Humboldt, Madera, and Yuba counties may not currently seek election.

Should you have any questions regarding this matter, please call (916) 446-4656.

Thank you,

Paul J, Yoder

Legislative Advocate

Karen Lange

Legislative Advocate

CC: Chair and Members, CMSP Governing Board

Kari Brownstein, Executive Director Cathy Deubel Salenko, General Counsel