Deputy Spellman Stallworth, center, is flanked by fellow officers, each one coveting his certificate

The Humboldt County Sheriff’s Office is today simultaneously very proud of Deputy Spellman Stallworth and alarmed by the rising number of reported stolen vehicles in the county, as evidenced by the press release below: 


Humboldt County Sheriff’s Deputy Spellman Stallworth was honored today for his stolen vehicle recovery efforts in Humboldt County.

Deputy Stallworth received a CHP 10851 Award for his work in 2017 recovering 12 stolen vehicles, at least three of which were being driven at the time of recovery. The 10851 Award consists of a pin and a certificate, and may be awarded to an officer up to 25 times. Today was Deputy Stallworth’s first time receiving the honor.


“We are very proud of Deputy Stallworth’s accomplishment,” HCSO Captain Kevin Miller said. “It is quite a feat to earn this award. It shows his dedication to the Sheriff’s Office and to the citizens of Humboldt County.”

In 2017, 721 vehicles were reported stolen to law enforcement agencies across the county. That number has been slowly climbing. In 2016 the county saw a total of 688 stolen vehicle reports and in 2015, at total of 494 reports.

A significant number of vehicles stolen out of Humboldt County are taken with their own ignition key. This is often the result of unsuspecting victims leaving their vehicles running while unattended or leaving a spare key in the vehicle. The Humboldt County Sheriff’s Office would like to remind residents:

  • Always lock your vehicle, even in your driveway.
  • Never leave your keys unattended or hidden inside your vehicle.
  • Keep the interior of your vehicle’s “showroom” clean. Never leave valuables in plain view.
  • Park your vehicle in a well-lit area. Consider adding a motion light in the area where your vehicle is parked at your residence or work place.
  • When at home, store your keys in an area out of sight to protect from theft during a residential burglary.
2017 Vehicle Theft Statistics:

Arcata: 110
CHP (including HCSO): 311
Eureka: 229
Ferndale: 1
Fortuna: 57
Rio Dell: 13

Total: 721