2022 Kinetic Award Winners

All hail your new Kinetic Grand Champions! After three days of grueling pedaling, Humpbacks of Notre Dame were acknowledged for the giant splash they made during the 2022 race with their innovative and colorful art, costumes and pageantry. Kongrats, krew!

Scroll down for the rest of the top award winners.

Humpbacks of Norte Dame

Best Art
1st: KHAM
2nd: Bee Here Now - Team Half Fast
3rd: Hela Glorious

Best Engineering
1st: Cowbell Moosical Theater
2nd: Tempus Fugitives - Preying Menace
3rd: LiveWrong

Best Speed
1st: Lemonheads (12:35)
2nd: LiveWrong (13:32)
3rd: Wing Nuts (13:37)

Best Pageantry
1st: LiveWrong
2nd: KHAM
3rd: Tempus Fugitives - Preying Menace


-General Race Updates- | Monday, 6:37 p.m.

2019 Kinetic Award Winners

Tri-peat! Your 2019 Kinetic Grand Champions react to their historic win

Triple the glory!

After three days of grueling sand, water and asphalt, local art nerds gathered in Ferndale Monday night to crown their 2019 Kinetic Grand Champion. This year’s winner is a familiar one to kinetics fans: For the third year in a row Team Trilobike showed their speed, art and engineering prowess to claim the event’s most coveted prize. Tri-peat achieved.

The feat holds some added significance for Trilobike team captain Steve McHaney. Before this year’s race, McHaney announced that this year’s race would be his last as a racer.

“It’s one of this things that sometimes in life you have to close one chapter and start another,” the retiring champion said. “And so the era of the Trilobike and this kind of art, that chapter is closing. I’m not going to do this anymore, but it’s really been awesome.”

McHaney added that while his pedaling days may be over he doesn’t plan to abandon kinetics. He plans to take a year off to see his son graduate school but then he plans to return to the race as a “peon” (kinetic lingo for non-racers who toil to help produce the event). And like a good kinetic championship, McHaney stayed on script to close out tonight’s festivities.

“There’s one las thing I want to say,” he said. “It’s for the glory!”

Scroll down for a list of the rest of this year’s award winners. Glory, glory, hallelujah!

-2019 Kinetic Grand Championship Awards- 

2019 Kinetic Grand Champions

Best Engineering

Best Art

Best Speed 

Best Pageantry 

2019 ACE Award Professors 

Mediocre Award (For Team That Finishes in the Middle of the Pack)

Racers’ Choice Award

Most Improved

Best Junior Award

Best Pit Crew

Best Campsite

Best Bribe

6:32 Award

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Joe

Best Volunteer

  • Team Weld Your Stuff

Goddess Jen-O Award

Port Townsend Award

Biggest Splash Award

The Golden Dinosaur Award

  • Tuggin’ For Glory

The Golden Flipper Award (Water)

The Golden Flipper Award (Sand)

The Spirit of the Glorious Founder Award

One for the Little Guy

Second to Last Award

Spectators’ Favorite

The Never Give Up Award

Teddy Bear Award

They Came From Out of Town

You Clever Rascal (Best Engineering for a Non-ACE Machine)

The Supernatural Award

2019 Blue Hawaii | Monday, 4:40 p.m.

Glory Shots

2019 Lion Kings of Rock-n-Roll | Monday, 4:40 p.m.

Glory Shots

2019 Hippiepotamus | Monday, 4:39 p.m.

Glory Shots



2019 Peace Peddlers | Monday, 4:35 p.m.

Glory Shots

2019 Who's Your Papa? | Monday, 4:35 p.m.

Glory Shots

2019 A-Team | Monday, 4:35 p.m.

Glory Shots

2019 Tuggin' For Glory | Monday, 4:35 p.m.

Glory Shots


2019 Needs More Cowbell | Monday, 4:35 p.m.

Glory Shots

2019 Working Class Hero | Monday, 4:35 p.m.

Glory Shots

2019 Party Pump | Monday, 4:35 p.m.

Glory Shots



2019 Melvin | Monday, 4:35 p.m.

Glory Shots

2019 Corpie Cruisers 1 | Monday, 4:35 p.m.

Glory Shots

Glory Shots




© 2023 Lost Coast Communications Contact: news@lostcoastoutpost.com.