COVID-19 and Humboldt

Below: The Outpost’s stories on the novel coronavirus pandemic and a selection of the best resources available at the moment.

 
  • Restaurants: Want to know which restaurants are open? Find a list here.
  • Kids need food? The Humboldt County Office of Education maintains a list of pickup spots for free meals for children. Find it here.
  • Unemployment, Disability, Paid Family Leave: California state government has relaxed certain regulations around unemployment, disability and paid family leave programs. If you’ve been affected by the coronavirus — if you’ve been laid off, or if you or your loved ones are in quarantined — you can apply for services immediately. See this FAQ from the Employment Development Department
  • Small business owners should check in with the North Coast Small Business Development Center, which is maintaining a mailing list and a list of federal, state and local resources to assist local businesses through the crises. See the SBDC’s COVID-19 page here.
Tuesday, Oct. 19

Humboldt’s Unvaccinated Account for a Majority of COVID Deaths and Hospitalizations Since June

Tuesday, Oct. 12

Supervisors Vote to Create Policy Requiring Weekly COVID-19 Testing of All Unvaxxed County Employees

Friday, Oct. 8

Board of Supervisors to Consider Vaccination Policy Options for County Employees

Friday, Sept. 24

(WATCH) 29-Year-Old Mom With COVID, Struggling to Breathe, Posts Videos From Hospital Bed, Urges Community to Get Vaccinated

Wednesday, Sept. 15

‘IT STARTS TO HURT YOUR SOUL’: Two St. Joe’s Nurses Talk About Life Inside the ICU During COVID

Tuesday, Sept. 14

TODAY in SUPES: Weed Growers Seek Help, Airline Traffic Takes Off and Hoffman Offers Advice for the Unvaxxed

Friday, Sept. 10

OBITUARY: Julia Scalvini Bass, 1924-2021

Thursday, Sept. 9

Some Parents Want COVID-19 Data From Schools to be Public, But Public Health Says the Request Isn’t Realistic Right Now

Tuesday, Sept. 7

Local Parents Create Facebook Group to Track In-School COVID Cases and Circulate Petition Asking Public Health to Publish Those Numbers

Thursday, Sept. 2

Help Wanted: Humboldt County Employers Struggle to Find Workers Amid a Smaller Labor Force, COVID Fears, Child Care Needs and the Remote Work Revolution

Wednesday, Sept. 1

St. Joe’s Announces New Monoclonal Antibody Therapy Clinic for COVID Patients

Thursday, Aug. 26

Humboldt’s First Fully Vaccinated COVID Fatality Lived With 30% Lung Capacity. With Confidence in Vaccine Efficacy, His Daughter Hopes More People in Humboldt Will Get Vaccinated, Too

Tuesday, Aug. 24

Critically Ill Patients Are Being Transferred Out of County Due to COVID Cases, Staffing Shortages at Local Hospitals

Monday, Aug. 23

College of the Redwoods Will Require Employees and Students to Vaccinate

Friday, Aug. 20

ANOTHER COVID CANCELATION: There Will Be No 2021 Redwood Coast Music Festival

Thursday, Aug. 19

Guy Fieri Fundraiser Events at This Year’s Humboldt County Fair Canceled by COVID

Wednesday, Aug. 18

FREE MASKS GALORE! They’re Giving Out 200,000 of the GOOD Masks to Local Businesses Next Week

Sunday, Aug. 15

Add the North Country Fair to the List of COVID-Canceled Events

Friday, Aug. 13

Here are 111 Humboldt-Del Norte Physicians Who Really Think You Should Get Vaccinated (Just Like They Have)

Tuesday, Aug. 10

EVENTS UPDATE: Hops in Humboldt Canceled; Humboldt County Fair a Go With Masks

Monday, Aug. 9

(GRAPH) Humboldt’s Unvaccinated Are Contracting COVID at Two and a Half Times the Rate of the Vaccinated

Friday, Aug. 6

Struggling to Pay Your Bills Due to COVID? You Might Be Eligible for the City of Eureka’s Utility Assistance Program

County Supes Ratify County Facility Masking Order, Voice Frustration With Those Still Unvaccinated

Arts Alive Canceled, Too

Rex Bohn Has COVID

Thursday, Aug. 5

College of the Redwoods is the Latest Workplace to Institute Vaccine/Testing Mandate for Staff, Residents; All-Student Mandate Could Follow if Conditions Worsen, President Says

County Supervisors to Reconsider Planned Return to In-Person Meetings Due to This Delta Variant Nightmare

Wednesday, Aug. 4

New Humboldt Masking Order to Go Into Effect Saturday, Following Strong Case Surge and ‘Unprecedented’ Levels of COVID Hospitalization

Buddy Brown Blues Festival Latest Local Event Canceled Due to COVID Concerns

Friday Night Market Canceled Until Further Notice Due to COVID-19 Surge

Tuesday, Aug. 3

COVID Virus Concentrations in Eureka Sewage ‘Among the Highest in the Nation,’ Says City

Thursday, July 29

THE REMASKENING: Humboldt County Facilities Will Again Require Masks Starting Friday

Wednesday, July 28

In Response to Spiking COVID Cases, State Joins CDC in Urging People to Resume Masking in Public Indoor Settings

Friday, July 23

MASKS BACK UP: Humboldt Public Health Joins 25 Other Counties to Recommend Masking Indoors, Regardless of Vaccination Status

Thursday, July 22

TACOS Y VACUNAS: Eureka Nonprofit Works to Ensure Latinx Residents are Comfortable Getting Vaccinated

Monday, July 19

Were You Hoping to Get Vaccinated at the Fortuna Redwood AutoXpo? You Can!

Thursday, July 1

STATE of the VARIANTS: Health Officer Runs Down the Circulation of the Alpha, Delta, Epsilon and Gamma Variants in Humboldt, Wishes More Young People Would Vaccinate

Monday, June 28

Eureka’s COVID-19 Testing Site is Moving From the Fairgrounds to the Wharfinger Building

Friday, June 18

Employers! Here’s the New Rules as of Right Now Regarding Workers and Vaccination Status

Tuesday, June 15

JIC: Here’s What’s Changed and What Hasn’t Now That Local Masking, Shelter-in-Place Orders Have Been Rescinded and the State’s ‘Blueprint for a Safer Economy’ is Dead

Monday, June 14

With Nearly $4.7M in Federal COVID Relief Funds, Wiyot Tribal Council Opts to Give Tribe Members $7,000 Apiece

Friday, June 11

Inmate at Humboldt County Jail Tests Positive for COVID-19

Friday, June 4

Free, Rapid Antigen COVID Tests are Now Available to Businesses, Churches and Others

Tuesday, May 18

TODAY in SUPES: An Apology, Some Vaccine Hesitancy, a Climate Action Plan and a Code of Ethics, Oh My!

Monday, May 17

California Will Keep Its Masking Guidance in Place a Bit Longer

Friday, May 14

NOTE to the VAXXED: Please Stay Masked Up During Those Customarily Mask-Up Situations While We Review the CDC’s New Rules, Asks Your State Department of Public Health

Friday, May 7

It’s Still Important to Get COVID Tested, Says Public Health. Here are a Bunch of Places in Humboldt to do That

Wednesday, May 5

Fresno to the Rescue! Central Valley County Ships 2,340 Vaccine Doses After Humboldt’s Fail to Arrive Due to a Shipping Error

Tuesday, May 4

E&O Lanes for Sale: Bowling Alley Coveted By Weed Businesses Hits Market for $1.6 Million

Monday, May 3

Seascape Restaurant Reopens Tomorrow; Employees Test Negative Following COVID-19 Exposure, Trinidad Rancheria Says


© 2021 Lost Coast Communications Contact: news@lostcoastoutpost.com.