COVID-19 and Humboldt

Below: The Outpost’s stories on the novel coronavirus pandemic and a selection of the best resources available at the moment.

 
  • Restaurants: Want to know which restaurants are open? Find a list here.
  • Kids need food? The Humboldt County Office of Education maintains a list of pickup spots for free meals for children. Find it here.
  • Unemployment, Disability, Paid Family Leave: California state government has relaxed certain regulations around unemployment, disability and paid family leave programs. If you’ve been affected by the coronavirus — if you’ve been laid off, or if you or your loved ones are in quarantined — you can apply for services immediately. See this FAQ from the Employment Development Department
  • Small business owners should check in with the North Coast Small Business Development Center, which is maintaining a mailing list and a list of federal, state and local resources to assist local businesses through the crises. See the SBDC’s COVID-19 page here.
Yesterday

TACOS Y VACUNAS: Eureka Nonprofit Works to Ensure Latinx Residents are Comfortable Getting Vaccinated

Monday, July 19

Were You Hoping to Get Vaccinated at the Fortuna Redwood AutoXpo? You Can!

Thursday, July 1

STATE of the VARIANTS: Health Officer Runs Down the Circulation of the Alpha, Delta, Epsilon and Gamma Variants in Humboldt, Wishes More Young People Would Vaccinate

Monday, June 28

Eureka’s COVID-19 Testing Site is Moving From the Fairgrounds to the Wharfinger Building

Friday, June 18

Employers! Here’s the New Rules as of Right Now Regarding Workers and Vaccination Status

Tuesday, June 15

JIC: Here’s What’s Changed and What Hasn’t Now That Local Masking, Shelter-in-Place Orders Have Been Rescinded and the State’s ‘Blueprint for a Safer Economy’ is Dead

Monday, June 14

With Nearly $4.7M in Federal COVID Relief Funds, Wiyot Tribal Council Opts to Give Tribe Members $7,000 Apiece

Friday, June 11

Inmate at Humboldt County Jail Tests Positive for COVID-19

Friday, June 4

Free, Rapid Antigen COVID Tests are Now Available to Businesses, Churches and Others

Tuesday, May 18

TODAY in SUPES: An Apology, Some Vaccine Hesitancy, a Climate Action Plan and a Code of Ethics, Oh My!

Monday, May 17

California Will Keep Its Masking Guidance in Place a Bit Longer

Friday, May 14

NOTE to the VAXXED: Please Stay Masked Up During Those Customarily Mask-Up Situations While We Review the CDC’s New Rules, Asks Your State Department of Public Health

Friday, May 7

It’s Still Important to Get COVID Tested, Says Public Health. Here are a Bunch of Places in Humboldt to do That

Wednesday, May 5

Fresno to the Rescue! Central Valley County Ships 2,340 Vaccine Doses After Humboldt’s Fail to Arrive Due to a Shipping Error

Tuesday, May 4

E&O Lanes for Sale: Bowling Alley Coveted By Weed Businesses Hits Market for $1.6 Million

Monday, May 3

Seascape Restaurant Reopens Tomorrow; Employees Test Negative Following COVID-19 Exposure, Trinidad Rancheria Says

Highly Contagious COVID Variant ‘Likely Circulating Broadly’ in Humboldt, Say Health Officials

Perhaps You’ve Been Holding Out Until You Can Get Vaxxed in Rio Dell? Great News: They’ve Got the J&J on Tap at the Fire Hall Thursday

Thursday, April 29

‘This is a Race’: As Mass COVID-19 Vaccination Appointments go Unfilled, Officials Look to Meet Residents Where They Are

Sunday, April 25

Only One Person Tied to ‘Superspreader Event’ That Closed Seascape Restaurant, Trinidad Rancheria Says

Saturday, April 24

Seascape Restaurant Closed due to COVID ‘Superspreader Event’; Recent Guests Asked to Get Tested

Thursday, April 22

CSU Will Likely Require All Students, Staff and Faculty to be Vaccinated Before Using Campus Facilities, Humboldt State Announces

Friday, April 16

Deciphering the Gaps: Health Officer, Latinx Providers Talk COVID Disparities

Thursday, April 15

Media Availability Time! Vaccine Task Force Member Gracefully Fields Questions From Local Reporters on the State of Vaccination Efforts

Tuesday, April 13

Do We Have Enough Non-J&J Vaccine to Keep Going at This Pace? Humboldt County Health Officer on Fears of Variants and Vaccine Side-Effects in Today’s Media Availability

Humboldt Public Health Will Pause Administering Johnson & Johnson Vaccine

Friday, April 9

Vaccine Now Open to Everyone! All Humboldt County Residents 16 and Up Can Sign Up for an Appointment on MyTurn

Thursday, April 8

Local Company to Host Humboldt’s Largest Drive-In Screen in Decades This Spring/Summer at Redwood Acres

SoHum Health Offering Vaccine to Anyone 16+ Today, Due to Excess Supplies on Hand

Lots and Lots of Vaccine Appointments Available in Humboldt Friday Through Sunday, Says Joint Information Center; Here’s How to Sign Up

Wednesday, April 7

Wondering What the Regulations are With Gatherings and Events Now That We’re in the Orange? The JIC Has Answers

Tuesday, April 6

Humboldt County Set to Move Into Orange Tier, Further Easing COVID Restrictions on Local Businesses

Monday, April 5

NEW VACCINE SIGN-UP SYSTEM: County Fully Adopts State’s ‘MyTurn’ Platform. Here’s How to Sign Up

Friday, April 2

Humboldt County Health Officials Urge Residents to Continue Getting Tested for COVID

Thursday, April 1

Can a Business Owner Require Her Employees to be Vaccinated? Plus: More Questions for Vaccine Task Force Member Lindsey Mendez

Tuesday, March 30

Humboldt Will Open Vaccine Eligibility to Adults and Kids 16 and Over Along With the State, Says Public Health Officer in Today’s Media Availability

Monday, March 29

Public Health Wants YOU! Volunteers — Especially Those With Medical Licenses — Needed for Mass Vaccination Ramp-Up

Friday, March 26

Open Door Health Centers Already Offering COVID-19 Vaccines to Patients 55 and Up

Thursday, March 25

Vaccination Q&A With Nurse Practitioner Lindsey Mendez

Pandemic Parenting: First 5 Humboldt Helps Families Address Stress and Regression In Children Through Online Parent Groups

California Announces Big Vaccination Expansion; Starting April 1, All Residents 50 and Up to Be Allowed Shots, With Everyone Eligible on April 15

(VIDEO) Humboldt Businesses! This 17-Minute Video Will Help You With the County’s Reopening Certification Process

Wednesday, March 24

Dr. Hoffman Urges Continued Focus on Orderly Vaccine Rollout But Says, ‘If You Get an Appointment, Take It’

Saturday, March 20

OBITUARY: Dale Allen Cooper, 1923-2021

Friday, March 19

State Says Only One Parent Can Attend Outdoor Youth Sporting Events. Sheriff Says Two is Fine By Him

Hoopa Valley Tribe Announces Mass Drive-Through Vaccine Clinic Open to All Residents of Inland Ancestral Lands of Hoopa, Yurok and Karuk Tribes

Thursday, March 18

Looking Forward to Humboldt Herd Immunity in Today’s Media Availability With Lindsey Mendez, Member of the Vaccine Task Force

Tuesday, March 16

Starting Up Sports, Vaccinating Food Service Employees and More — Today’s Media Questions for Humboldt County’s Health Officer

Friday, March 12

In Email, Public Health Director Tells Presiding Judge She’s Disappointed Courts Circumvented the Vaccine Process

Thursday, March 11

More Vaccine Questions, More Vaccine Answers With Humboldt County Vaccine Task Force Member Lindsey Mendez


© 2021 Lost Coast Communications Contact: news@lostcoastoutpost.com.